FAQ & Lexique Digital

What is digital media ?

Before defining what digital media is, be aware that it is found under several names : digital signage, dooh (digital signage out of home) digital display or dynamic audiovisual communication . Thus, the digital media refers to the display of advertising or informative messages on digital screens out of home.

 

What is a classic digital media solution made of ?

A digital screen solution (or digital media) is based on three primary components that are a flat screen, a player and a server or an online multimedia content service. The complexity of these components then varies according to different parameters : display size, diversity of broadcasted multimedia content, degree of interactivity with the audience, durability of materials used and level of customization.

 

To which communication goals does it answer ?

The digital screen solutions let sales places greet public, disseminate information on products, promotions, or to communicate about brands and even to entertain and occupy public. They also offer the opportunity for companies to communicate internal information through media such as newspapers. Finally, the digital screens can inform and guide the passers in public places in an innovative and effective way.

 

What are the advantages of digital screen ?

The digital display opens many opportunities in the relationship between the brand and its customers / employees. It allows to update data quickly, disseminate a multiple and configurable information, adapt messages in time and increase their number.

 

What will it cost ?

The cost of a digital screen solution is difficult to determine because there are no defined offers. The level of complexity of the digital screen project determines alone the deployment cost of the solution.

 

Is there an association of professionals in this sector ?

Yes, the DMAF aims to promote and defend the interests of digital media, new ground of expression for brands and retailers. Founded in 2005 under the name of APCAD Association for the promotion of dynamic audiovisual communication, it was renamed to Digital Media Association France (DMAF) in 2010. It now represents all market players (governed , content providers and equipment, consulting agencies ...) and brings together all trades for greater integration projects in the French advertising and media landscape. Today, the DMAF has over 50 members, including TMM Communication.

 

Digital Lexicon

A

Animation : to set in motion stationary elements (logos, image muse, products, symbols, typography etc.) of an extremily impacting and attractive animated content (for example an advertising animation, informative, product animation, corporate, institutional, etc.).

B

Big Data : datasets mostly from the many platforms and web tools.

Branding : Branding is a marketing technique or advertising that seeks to position a brand in the consumer's mind, so that it is recognizable by consumers and associated with one or more of its services or products.

C

Credits : Loop signature, it marks the beginning or end of the program cycle.

CMS : A CMS (Content Management System) is a software family for the design and dynamic update of multimedia applications (or web sites).

Corporate communication : Opposed to brand and product communication, it is company itself oriented communication : its history, its expertise, its achievements, values, etc.

Connected Store : A connected store is a place of physical sales that has one or more interactive devices connected available to its customers and its vendors.

D

Digital Signage : Digital Signage is a communication tool that advertises in public places on a screen from a projector, on a picture wall or even a video wall, with all kinds of information.

Digital Media : digital content (text, graphics, audio, video, etc.) that can be transmitted over the internet or computer networks.

Display : term for Internet advertising with purchase of space and inserting graphics or visual elements declined in several formats. The display word was created to distinguish between traditional internet advertising (display) and commercial links campaigns (search).

DOOH : DOOH is the acronym used to refer to digital outdoor advertising. DOOH means Digital Out-Of-Home. DOOH term is used particularly to distinguish between digital "out of home" display of digital web advertising.

Digital marketing : Digital marketing means all the marketing techniques used on media and digital channels.

Digital program Signature : This is the animation of your logo or the thought and the creation of a specific logo for this digital program. The signature can reflect the identity, values and positioning of the digital program.

Digital Watch : Keeping abreast about new products, the latest technological innovations. As a professional, watching is essential today.

E

Editorial : the textual content of your newspaper. (Editorial line : the axis, the communication tone of your choice for your newspaper.)

F

G

Gabarit : it defines an architecture, a structure, graphics and effects that are materialized and fixed on a given medium.

H

Hardware : means everything material, opposed to software, which means programs, software or CDs.

I

IT Integrator : An IT integrator is the person responsible of integrating the work of several teams of programmers and deliver the finished product on a regular basis. His role is to assemble the tools, software, software packages to operate a group of subsystems of different origins.

Interstitial : Animated of fixed micro-cut which is interposed between 2 contents (lighter than a jingle).

J

Jingle : Small theme that marks the beginning of a topic, it lasts between 5 and 10 seconds. It comes depending on the introduced topic to capture the viewer's attention during a change of information.

K

KPI : This is a key performance indicator that measures the progress made (or to make) to achieve a strategic goal. A KPI (Key Performance Indicator) can meet the following objectives : evaluation, diagnosis, communication, information, motivation, continuous progress.

4K : The term 4K refers to the definition of an image : in the original standard, a base formed of 4096 pixels - which is also the size of 4 kibibytes - 16/9 format, twice as many pixels in height and width compared to the Full HD standard, making it an image with four times the pixels, so rendering 4x sharper.

L

Loop : A loop is a set of elements joined end to end that will compose a broadcasted program and repeated.

LED : An LED is a low-power and long life diode. Today it is an essential component increasingly used in various fields such as digital signage, lighting, television or computers screens, decoration etc.

M

Multimedia Integrator : A multimedia integrator is the person responsible for integrating the work of programmers, designers and developers before the finalization of an interactive multimedia product.

Mask : see Template.

Model : specific to TELELOGOS – see Template.

N

NFC : Near Field Communication. Data exchange technology, without contact, at a distance of a few centimeters. NFC enables communication between a reader and several terminals (eg downloading files between a mobile phone and a computer, payment via mobile phone etc.).

O

Omnichannel : for a brand or a distributor, the "omnichannel" strategy is to go where consumers are located, regardless of the channel (web, mobile, paper, tv ...) and prevent them to go elsewhere.

P

Player : A player is a professional computer that can store, manage, distribute, receive and send information to screens and the server. A player sends and receives information in both directions : it can search information on the servers to send to the screens, or collect the info via the screens back to the servers.

Program : succession of the various elements (jingle, mask, animation, section, flow etc.) assembled and broadcasted to a program.

Q

QR Code : A QR code is a type of barcode in two dimensions consisting of modules (usually black) arranged in a square. The layout of these points defines the information that contains the code : to decrypt it simply scan it via a dedicated application (eg smartphone).

R

Respiration : a pause created in a loop to cut the diffusion rate of repeat content and to diversify the information.

ROI : Return on investment : ROI is a percentage which measures the amount of money earned by an advertising investment.

S

Section : various themes that can cut and position content (eg welcome section, sports section, promotion section). These items are used to segment and group content in specific categories to induce a clear identification with the viewer and better weighting.

Stream : content or data broadcast according to a given frequency. It can have various shapes (information stream; XML data, video streams etc.) and can be either automatic or manual.

Slide : equivalent of template, it is a variation of a mask from a model.

Server : A computer that stores and provides data and / or files to other computers connected to it.

Set Design : staging space.

Software : The software refers to computer programs or CDs, opposed to hardware which is the material in general.

Storyboard : Cutting the scenario of a movie where each scene is illustrated by one or more drawings.

T

Template : A template is a layout pattern where we place images and text. Also, it is often repeatedly used to create documents having the same structure. The template allows significant time savings and standardization of the presentation because the format is defined only once.

Theme : A theme is a set of customizable parameters that define the skeleton and the appearance of a support.

V

W

Widget : Accessory installed on the terminal desktop or on a page, which provides access to services or information of your choice, it is updated in real time.

X

Y

Z

Zoning : Cutting space in areas. It is a management technique to reserve space for a particular purpose (text, image etc.)

FAQ & Lexique Digital

Qu’est-ce que le digital media ?

Avant de définir ce qu’est le digital media, il faut savoir qu’on le retrouve sous plusieurs noms : digital signage, dooh (digital signage out of home), affichage dynamique (digital display) ou encore communication audiovisuelle dynamique. Ainsi, le digital media désigne l’affichage de messages publicitaires ou informatifs sur des écrans digitaux hors foyer.

 

De quoi est constituée une solution de digital media classique ?

Une solution de digital display (ou digital media) est articulée autour de trois composants primaires que sont un écran plat, un player, ainsi qu'un serveur ou un service en ligne de contenus multimédia. La complexité de ces composants varie ensuite en fonction de différents paramètres : taille de l'affichage, diversité des contenus multimédia diffusés, degré d'interactivité avec les spectateurs, durabilité des matériaux employés et niveau de personnalisation.

 

A quels objectifs de communication répond-elle ?

Les solutions de digital display permettent aux lieux de ventes d’accueillir le public, de diffuser des informations sur les produits, les promotions, ou encore de communiquer sur les marques et même de divertir et d’occuper le public. Elles offrent également la possibilité aux entreprises de communiquer sur des informations internes, par le biais de journaux multimédia par exemple. Enfin, le digital display permet d’informer et de guider les passants dans des lieux publics de manière innovante et efficace.

 

Quels sont les avantages du digital display ?

Le digital display ouvre de nombreuses opportunités dans la relation entre la marque et ses clients/collaborateurs. Il permet de mettre à jour rapidement les données, de diffuser une information multiple et paramétrable, d’adapter les messages dans le temps et de multiplier leur nombre.

 

Quel budget faut-il prévoir ?

Concernant le coût d’une solution de digital display, il est difficile à déterminer car il n’existe pas d’offre définie. Le niveau de complexité du projet de digital display détermine alors à lui seul le coût de déploiement de la solution.

 

Existe-t-il une association de professionnels du métier ?

Oui, la DMAF a pour vocation de promouvoir et défendre les intérêts du Digital Media, nouveau terrain d’expression au service des marques et des enseignes. Créée en 2005 sous le nom de l’APCAD pour Association pour la promotion de la communication audiovisuelle dynamique, elle a été renommée en Digital Media Association France (DMAF) en 2010. Elle représente aujourd’hui l’ensemble des acteurs du marché (régies, fournisseurs de contenus et d’équipements, agences conseil...) et fédère l’ensemble des métiers pour une plus grande intégration des projets dans le paysage publicitaire et médiatique français. A ce jour, la DMAF compte plus de 50 membres, dont TMM Communication.

 

Lexique Digital

 

A

Affichage dynamique : L’affichage dynamique (en anglais : digital signage) est un outil de communication qui permet de diffuser dans les lieux publics sur un écran, depuis un vidéoprojecteur, sur un mur d'image ou même un mur d'écrans, toutes sortes d’informations.

Animation : mise en mouvement à partir d’éléments fixes (logos, image d’égérie, produits, symboles, typo etc.) d’un contenu animé extrêmement impactant et attirant (cela peut donner par exemple une animation publicitaire, informative, une animation produit, corporate, institutionnelle etc.).

B

Big Data : littéralement les grosses données, c’est une expression anglophone utilisée pour désigner des ensembles de données venant principalement des nombreuses plateformes et outils du web.

Branding : Le branding est une technique marketing ou publicitaire qui cherche à positionner une marque dans l’esprit du consommateur, c’est-à-dire qu’elle soit reconnaissable par les consommateurs et qu’elle soit associée à un ou plusieurs de ses services ou produits.

Boucle : une boucle est un ensemble d’éléments joints bout à bout qui vont composer un programme diffusé et répété.

C

CMS : Un CMS (Content Management System) est une famille de logiciels destinés à la conception et à la mise à jour dynamique d'applications multimédia (ou de sites Web).

Communication corporate : Par opposition à la communication de marque ou de produit, communication axée sur l’entreprise elle-même : son histoire, son savoir-faire, ses réalisations, ses valeurs, etc.

Connected Store : un magasin connecté est un lieu de vente physique qui dispose d’un ou plusieurs dispositifs interactifs connectés mis à la disposition de ses clients et de ses vendeurs.

D

Digital Media : Il s’agit du contenu numérique (texte, graphique, audio, vidéo etc.) qui peut être transmis sur Internet ou les réseaux informatiques.

Display : Terme qui désigne la publicité sur Internet avec achat d’espaces et insertion d’éléments graphiques ou visuels déclinés sous plusieurs formats. Le mot display a été créé pour faire la distinction entre la publicité classique sur Internet (display) et les campagnes de liens commerciaux (search).

DOOH : DOOH est l’acronyme anglais utilisé pour désigner la publicité extérieure digitale ou numérique. DOOH signifie Digital Out-Of-Home. Le terme DOOH est notamment utilisé pour distinguer l’affichage digital "out of home" de la publicité digitale sur Internet.

Diapositive : équivalent de template, c’est une déclinaison d’un masque à partir d’un modèle.

E

Editorial : le contenu textuel de votre journal.

(Ligne Editoriale : l’axe, le ton de communication choisi pour votre journal.)

F

Flux : un contenu ou une donnée diffusée selon une fréquence donnée. Il peut avoir diverses formes (flux d’information ; données XML ; flux vidéo etc.) et peut être soit automatique soit manuel.

G

Gabarit : c’est la définition d’une architecture, d’une structure, d’un graphisme et des effets qui sont matérialisés et fixés sur un support donné.

Générique : Signature de boucle, il marque le début ou la fin du cycle de programme.

H

Hardware : Le hardware qualifie le matériel informatique en général, par opposition au software, qui désigne les programmes, les logiciels ou les CD.

I

Intégrateur informatique : Un intégrateur, en informatique, est la personne chargée d'intégrer le travail de plusieurs équipes de programmeurs et de livrer à intervalles réguliers le produit fini. Son rôle est aussi d’assembler des outils, logiciels, progiciels pour faire fonctionner un groupe de sous-systèmes d'origines différentes.

Intégrateur multimédia : Un intégrateur multimédia est la personne chargée d'intégrer le travail de programmeurs, d'infographistes et de développeurs préalablement à la finalisation d'un produit multimédia interactif.

Interstitiel : Micro-coupure animée ou fixe qui vient s’intercaler entre 2 contenus (plus léger qu’un jingle).

J

Jingle : Petit thème qui marque le début d’une rubrique, il dure entre 5 et 10 secondes. Il se décline en fonction de la rubrique qu’il introduit et vient capter l’attention du spectateur sur un changement d’information.

K

KPI : C’est un indicateur clé de performance qui doit mesurer le progrès réalisé (ou à réaliser) pour atteindre un but stratégique. Un KPI (Key Performance Indicators) permet de répondre aux objectifs suivants : évaluation, diagnostic, communication, information, motivation, progrès continu.

4K : Le terme 4K fait référence à la définition de l'image : dans la norme initiale, une base formée de 4 096 pixels — ce qui est aussi la taille de 4 kibioctets — en format 16/9, soit deux fois plus de pixels en hauteur et en largeur par rapport à la norme Full HD, ce qui en fait une image ayant quatre fois plus de pixels, donc un rendu 4x plus net.

L

LED : Une LED est une diode électroluminescente à faible consommation et longue durée de vie. C’est aujourd’hui un composant incontournable de plus en plus utilisé dans différents domaines tels que l’affichage dynamique, l'éclairage, les écrans de téléviseurs ou d'ordinateurs, la décoration etc.

M

Marketing Digital : Le marketing digital (également couramment appelé marketing numérique) désigne l’ensemble des techniques de marketing utilisées sur les supports et canaux digitaux.

Masque : voir Gabarit.

Modèle : spécifique à Télélogos - voir Gabarit.

N

NFC : Near Field communication. Technologie d'échange de données, sans contact, à une distance de quelques centimètres. La NFC permet la communication entre un lecteur et plusieurs terminaux (par exemple le téléchargement de fichiers entre un téléphone portable et un ordinateur, le paiement via téléphone mobile etc.).

O

Omnicanal : pour une marque ou un distributeur, la stratégie “omnicanal” consiste à se rendre là où se trouvent les consommateurs, quel que soit le canal (web, mobile, papier, tv…), et les ramener chez eux plutôt qu’ils n’aillent chez les concurrents.

P

Player : Un player est un ordinateur professionnel qui permet de stocker, gérer, diffuser, recevoir et envoyer des informations aux écrans et au serveur. Un player envoi et reçoit des informations dans les deux sens : il peut rechercher de l’information sur les serveurs pour l’envoyer aux écrans, ou la collecter via les écrans pour remonter l’info aux serveurs. 

Programme : succession des divers éléments (jingle, masque, animation, rubrique, flux etc.) qui assemblés et diffusés composent un programme.

Q

QR Code : Un QR code est un genre de code-barres en deux dimensions constitué de modules (le plus souvent noirs) disposés dans un carré. L'agencement de ces points définit l'information que contient le code : pour le décrypter il suffit de le scanner via une application dédiée (sur smartphone par exemple).

R

Respiration : un temps de pause créé dans une boucle pour couper la cadence de diffusion de contenus répétitifs et pour diversifier les informations.

Retail : Retail est le terme anglais désignant l’activité de commerce de détail.

R.O.I : Retour sur investissement : le ROI est un pourcentage qui mesure le montant d’argent gagné par rapport à un investissement publicitaire.

Rubrique : diverses thématiques qui permettent de découper et de positionner un contenu (ex : rubrique bienvenue, rubrique sport, rubrique promotion). Les rubriques permettent de segmenter et de regrouper des contenus dans des catégories spécifiques pour induire une identification claire auprès du spectateur et une meilleure pondération.

S

Serveur : Ordinateur qui stocke et met à disposition des données et/ou des fichiers à la demande d’autres ordinateurs qui lui sont connectés.

Scénographie : mise en scène d’un espace.

Signature digitale de programme : Il s’agit de l’animation de votre logo ou la réflexion et la création d’un logo spécifique à ce programme digital. La signature permet de refléter l’identité, les valeurs et le positionnement du programme digital.

Software : Le software désigne en informatique les programmes, les logiciels ou les CD, en opposition au hardware, qualifiant, lui, le matériel en général.

Story board : Découpage du scénario d'un film où chaque scène est illustrée par un ou plusieurs dessins.

T

Template : Un template est un patron de mise en page où l'on place images et textes. Aussi, il est souvent utilisé de manière répétitive pour créer des documents présentant une même structure. Le template permet donc un gain de temps appréciable et une normalisation de la présentation puisque la mise en forme n'est définie qu'une seule fois.

Thème : Un thème est un ensemble de paramètres personnalisables qui définissent le squelette et l'apparence d’un support.

V

Veille Digitale : Se tenir au courant des nouveautés, des dernières innovations technologiques. En tant que professionnel, faire de la veille est aujourd’hui indispensable.

W

Widget : Accessoire installé sur le bureau du terminal ou sur une page, qui permet d'accéder à des services ou informations de son choix, il est mis à jour en temps réel.

Z

Zonage : Découpage d'un espace en zones. C'est une technique d'aménagement consistant à réserver des espaces à un usage particulier (texte, image etc.)